53% of high schoolers are not interested in the drug war

This past week I created a survey and asked my mom, a high school teacher in Houston, to pass out the survey to all her students. The survey creating program I used (survey monkey) collected the first 100 responses and organized the data into percentages for each question. Some of the results left me surprised, while others did not. (The title of this post only refers to the 100 students I surveyed).

I will analyze each of the 9 total questions in this report.

Question 1 is a type of question that will vary throughout socioeconomic classes as well as different demographic characteristics of the population.

Questions 2 and 3 correlate together. At first I was a little skeptical that only 5% of kids out of 100% said they used drugs but when I discovered the results of question 3, I found that 64.3% knew someone that used drugs. So those two results together make more sense, even though there’s only these 5% that are high school users, there’s still another 63 kids (out of 100) that know of family or friends that are using. Seems a little more accurate.

Question 4 I was forgetful in adding the number zero. So most of the kids that didn’t see zero either put 1-2 or skipped the question. This was my fault, therefore this statistic may be somewhat inaccurate under the 1-2 option. However, I was amazed that the 7 or more option would have one second place in the “how many people do you know that uses illegal drugs” category. 24 kids knew 7 or more people where as compared to the 5-6 with only 7 and the 3-4 not far behind with 21, that blows my mind. Because this means that kids either know no one or they know a lot of people. The options in between or fuzzy. So it’s just a wild thought.

Question 5… I’m not surprised. This would seem more accurate to me since I’d believe a lot of high schoolers aren’t going to be dealing or be in constant contact with a dealer.

Question 6 was to see if the younger crowd/generation has any knowledge of what’s going in the world today. Especially since we live in Texas, I was curious if they knew of an issue that’s happening so close to us.I’m glad to find that there was a large percent of kids that knew about it.

Question 7 I did something a little different. I had asked kids to type in their own free response to the question “What do you know about it?”

Here I will paste some of the answers I found interesting:

“People are doing anything they can to get drugs over the border across to the US, they have been putting drugs into dogs and animals and bring them over. They also kill others and their families in order to bring them over.”

” All i know is that it’s dangerous with people shooting others and stuff like that i think… ”

” There is drugs and its a big deal? ”

” People die all the time. they take prisoners and put them in fights to the death, and the winners have to go out and shoot as many people as possible until they get shot. also, they kill journalists. ”

” not much. my dad just talks about it sometimes because he works in Mexico ”

” Americans are buying drugs. ”

“I’ve heard that the people that bring the drugs over the boarderare usually poor and are just trying to make some extra cash.”

” There are brutal drug cartels that are responsible for smuggling drugs as well as many murders. In some cases inoccent tourists or itnernet bloggers have even been murdered just to be made an example of. Smuggling drugs is a huge felony and getting contraban into the country has become a very big issue for the U.S. and Mexico. ”

” That it’s happening. (?) ”

” That the native people of Mexico are smuggling drugs to the United states and other countries.”

” They cut off people’s heads and hang them from trees. ”

” I SMOKE IT! ”

” I know that it is sold for lots of money. I know the people that use it get bad grades, and usually don’t care about anything. I know that people who use them probably won’t be successful in the future. ”

” NOTHING (: ”

And many more were posted but I cannot post them all. These were just the ones that stuck out to me. Some of them were informed, some did not make any sense in relation to the drug war, and some were clueless. I noticed out of all the responses, the majority had no clue of the happenings of the drug war. But at least I did my part through this survey, to hopefully interest them in learning more about it. Some kids gave me internet responses, such as what it was from Wikipedia or other sites. So that means they took the time to learn what it was at least.

Question 8 I tried to make them aware of the fact that America plays a large part of the drug war in Mexico…that’s it not simply Mexico creating this mess.

And Question 9 I really wanted to see if young people care about this issue. And the result cut it close, but it turns out that more youth do not really care about the drug war. It’s sad to think this is our future. They don’t care about something that we are a part of… this means that they will continue to do drugs, go on with their lives, they will continue to be uneducated on these matters, and nothing will be resolved.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “53% of high schoolers are not interested in the drug war

  1. Really easy to implement suggest I am impressed. Rather rarely used features does an individual come upon any world wide web page that is definitely the two educative combined with fun. Simply want to explain to you that you have attack a claw around the brain. The assumed might be brilliant. Thx might be virtually all That i need to point out!

Leave a Reply

